Disclosures: Nothing to disclose - 04/11/2021

Dr. Ziegelstein is the Vice Dean for Education in the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He is the Sarah Miller Coulson and Frank L. Coulson, Jr., Professor of Medicine, and the Mary Wallace Stanton Professor of Education.  

Dr. Ziegelstein received his BA in Biology summa cum laude from Boston University in 1982.  He then received his M.D. from Boston University in 1986, and was inducted in the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. Dr. Ziegelstein completed his internship and residency in internal medicine on the Osler Medical Service at Johns Hopkins Hospital in 1989 and was an Assistant Chief of Service (ACS) at Johns Hopkins Hospital from 1989 to 1990. Dr. Ziegelstein completed his cardiology fellowship at Johns Hopkins in 1993, with a joint appointment at the NIH.  He then joined the cardiology faculty at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, where he has been on faculty continuously since 1993. 

Dr. Ziegelstein was an NIH R01-funded basic investigator in cardiology. He directed a vascular biology research laboratory on the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center campus from 1993 until 2005; his research focused on endothelial calcium signaling and its regulation of vascular gene expression. For more than 20 years, he has been a leader in clinical research on depression and cardiovascular disease, and led the cardiovascular section of the NIH-funded Johns Hopkins Center for Mind-Body Research. 

Dr. Ziegelstein directed the internal medicine residency training program at Johns Hopkins Bayview from 1997-2006.  He also developed and directed the Transition to Residency and Internship and Preparation for Life (TRIPLE) course for 4th-year medical students, their “capstone” course before graduation. Dr. Ziegelstein co-directs the Aliki Initiative, a program for internal medicine residents that is focused on the practice of patient-centered care. Dr. Ziegelstein is a 5-time recipient of the George J. Stuart Award for Outstanding Clinical Teaching and he also has received the Professor's Award for Distinction in Teaching in the Clinical Sciences from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. The American College of Physicians Maryland Chapter has recognized him with the C. Lockard Conley Award for Contributions to Resident Education and Research and the Theodore E. Woodward Award for Medical Education.  He was named a Master of the American College of Physicians in 2012, and received the Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award of the Association of American Medical Colleges in 2013. Dr. Ziegelstein received the first annual Sponsorship Award from the Task Force on Women’s Academic Careers in Medicine in the Department of Medicine, and the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine Distinguished Medical Alumnus Award, both in 2015.